Last updated: October 28, 2019

Becoming a Phlebotomist in Utah

Find classes and programs near you.

Quick Facts:

  • Number of programs: 24
  • Average graduation rate: 46%
  • Average hourly wage: $15
  • Projected job growth: 44% (much faster than average)
  • New jobs created annually, avg.: 200
Utah Phlebotomy Schools

Utah has the highest (together with Arizona) job growth rate for phlebotomists across all of the states – an impressive 44% increase by 2026.

With reasonable cost of living and education, along with great (combined with cost of living) wages it’s an ideal state to start your career as phlebotomist.

Description of Phlebotomy Classes in Utah

To enable future phlebotomists enter the job market quickly, phlebotomy training programs in Utah schools are designed to be short-paced and teach only required theory and practical skills.

When requesting a curriculum from the school of your choice you will often see Phlebotomy Orientation, Theory and Practical as core (and often the only) courses.

Utah Phlebotomy Training Requirements

Again, because of more and more technicians needed by healthcare institutions across the state, program requirements are often limited to being 18 years of age or older and being a high-school graduate.

Some schools may still request immunizations and drug test passed.

List of Utah Phlebotomy Programs

To satisfy the growing demand of phlebotomists, 30th-most-populous, and 11th-least-densely populated state has an impressive offering of 24 Phlebotomy and Medical assistance programs.

Classes are offered through technical, career and community colleges with more options available in bigger cities like Salt Lake – Provo, but still a decent choice in less-populated areas like Logan and Saint George.

You can also use the form below to find more training opportunities and online programs:

Search Phlebotomy Technician Programs

Get information on Phlebotomy Technician programs by entering your zip code and request enrollment information.

Sponsored Ad

Utah Phlebotomy Certification and Licensure

License required: No

Certification required: No

No licensing and certification is required by the Utah State Department of Health to start practicing phlebotomy.

Given an impressive job growth and amount of new jobs created, you often can enter the workforce with no certification at all, or have on-the-job training.

Still, if you want to land a better job with better compensation package (and not just an average job) we recommend to get an ASCP or NHA phlebotomy certification right after your graduation from a phlebotomy training program.

Utah Phlebotomist Salary Data

Salaries for phlebotomists in Utah who are only starting their career are on-par with what you can get in neighbouring states and nation average.

However, as you progress in your career and get more experience (usually after 3-5 years), it may be hight to sustain a steady rate increase.

Again, it has to do a lot with more job opportunities available for phlebotomists and new technicians entering the workforce.

Here’s a comparison of Utah wages with those of other states:

Percentile USA, annual Utah, annual USA, hourly Utah, hourly
10th percentile $25,020 $25,040 $12.03 $12.04
25th percentile $28,830 $27,060 $13.86 $13.01
50th percentile (median) $34,480 $30,020 $16.58 $14.43
75th percentile $40,500 $34,460 $19.47 $16.57
90th percentile $49,060 $38,960 $23.59 $18.73

And a more detailed breakdown by main areas:


Utah Department of Health

Phone: 801-538-6003
Address: 288 N 1460 W, Salt Lake City, UT 84116

Search Phlebotomy Technician Programs

Get information on Phlebotomy Technician programs by entering your zip code and request enrollment information.

Sponsored Ad